BeaumontsBeat
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

So, what did or do you do for a living, and do you like it?

4 posters

Go down

So, what did or do you do for a living, and do you like it? Empty So, what did or do you do for a living, and do you like it?

Post  Admin Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:17 pm

I'll start. I was a firefighter/paramedic for the last 24 years. I was the Captain of the Emergency Medical Team at the ExxonMobil Beaumont refinery for 16 years. I tore my left knee up fighting a fire at the refinery. They took me out of there to the hospital, I gave them my skin at times. Still, after I returned to work, they wanted a witness. "You say that you fell fighting the fire. You were on the nozzle, who was behind you?"

I didn't know, I had never seen him before. "What? You have been fighting fire here for 20 years and you don't know who he was? We need a witness." I looked at him, "Why? You hauled me out of here when I couldn't walk to the hospital. Why do you need a witness?"

Anyway, they actually appointed one man to investigate this, to find out who was behind me on the hose, so maybe they didn't have to pay the medical bills as I risked my life for them. They discovered that it was a new hire at Mobil Chemical, the refinery right behind us and he testified that what I was saying was true. WTF? I volunteer to fight chemical fires and they haul me from the fire scene to the hospital and then have the balls to accuse me of lying? "Yeah man, I tore my knee up so bad that I couldn't walk. Yet somehow, managed to limp back in, and just so happen to catch a fire, then blame it on you."